top of page
  • qianaudiary

My First Slow Travel Trip in Tasmania

Updated: Feb 13, 2022



This is the second time that I visited Tasmania. Instead of having the sheer excitement from a brand-new place, this time I felt a different type of joy, calmer but my heart got warmed by some small details and moments, which prompted me to reflect on life also.


Thanks to my travel buddy Sam for bringing me a very different way of travelling, taking it slow and experiencing places fully. Besides visiting my old university friends for two days (a lovely reunion), we only explored three places (over 10 days), Mt Field National park, Bruny Island, and Hobart.


Do I like slow travel?

Yes. I am still getting used to it, but I can see more benefits while reflecting back now. Not rushed made me feel less tired and became more observant, flexible, and spontaneous to embark on adventures.


For example, I know more plants and animals’ names: wren, hydrangea, pademelon, echidna, and pigface (thanks to Sam for introducing them to me). I have to say, Tasmania is truly made for nature lovers and adventurers. Animals are everywhere and there are so many walking trails for you to explore (A kind reminder: getting fit before your trip would be beneficial).


And the most special thing in Tasmania for me is their ocean and mountains can be in the same picture frame. Magical. Tasmanians, you are so lucky. And, I survived from a 6 nights camping trip (read more here) and enjoyed it (which I would never imagined this could happen). Everything can change. Don’t make a judgment too soon.





So, any more details? I hear you. Now, follow me and let me show you some of my small yet memorable moments 😊 .


Highlights


1. Standing inside the waves and giving myself completely to nature.

I like to either just wait there, allowing them to touch me, or run away from them and let them catch me later. Playing games with nature, I want to do more.


2. Rainforest.

Different shades of green brought me to a whole new world. Also, doing fallen tree balance beam and playing racing games with Sam made me travel back in time, those are the things that I liked to do as a kid.



3. Accepting a challenge without knowing it: hiking through rocks.

That was in Lake Fanton. There were a few times I wanted to give up. It was hard and risky, especially seeing some big gaps among rocks, scary. But thanks to Sam who was there so supportive that I was able to make it to the top eventually. And I was very glad that I insisted because it was indeed an adventure and the view made all the efforts worthwhile.

Life reflection time: doesn’t our life act the same? Sometimes we have to work hard if we want to see something different or interesting. That’s why in China, we always say 机遇与挑战并存 (opportunities and challenges coexist).




4. Meet new plants and animals every day.

The trip gave me so many opportunities to meet and greet things in nature. Spotting new plants and animals everywhere and even around our tent (thanks to echidnas and pademelons for visiting us, but I was so tempted to pat them) really left a sense of harmony on me. Dearest plants and animals, we are living on this earth together, so let’s treat each other gently.













Unplanned surprises


1. An unexpected rough road

When we were in Bruny Island, Google Maps guided us to a coarse road (sorry wheels), but it happened to be in a rainforest. That made me happily embrace the surprise. Who doesn’t want extra tranquillity?


2. Campfire


We didn’t plan to set a fire until a random conversation started.

‘What are you doing here?’ A girl asked, passing by our tent.

‘Did we do anything wrong?’ I thought and looked at Sam. He appeared to be confused too.

‘You should set up a fire. What a perfect opportunity!’ She continued.

So we did, and it was very enjoyable.


3. Shall we try another campsite?

‘You should check out that campsite! It’s really good!’

The owner from the Bruny Island Raspberry Farm recommended it to us while we were visiting her farm.


Move or not? That is a question. We might not find a spot in the new campground and lose our current spot (it was busy there on the day already). Besides, the car we rent (not a powerful Four-Wheel Drive) might not be able to survive over the sand along the beach. However, being adventurers, we both chose to make a courageous move. Luckily, it was a right move. The second place was much better, less busy and closer to a beach (It was so good to live closer to our neighbour waves).



Life reflection time: Sometimes we have to take a risk to see a better view, but the moment of taking an action usually will be scary. Therefore, just doing it without pondering too much is crucial.


So the conclusion is: maybe we don’t need to do too much preparation beforehand. Just letting the adventure unfold at its own pace seems to be more fun and less stressful than knowing what we are going to expect to see.


BUT, there was one moment I didn’t like

I've had an upset stomach at the end of the trip, but luckily there was a pharmacy close by. Next time, I need to do better homework on my first aid kit.


Ending

This trip gives me a different view on traveling/adventures, maybe I should do slow traveling more. Most of the things that I can remember now are not the destination itself, but the journey: the unexpected moments that happened during the trip, and how I faced them. They enabled me to reflect and learn more about myself, others, and the world that I am living in. That’s special, and that makes it my trip instead of someone else.






57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page