top of page
  • qianaudiary

A Letter to You, Bill Spurr


Dearest Bill 爷爷 (means grandpa in Chinese),


Do you know it’s my third time crying lately when I mentioned your pass-away news to my family and friends? I have been crying every time when I was writing this letter to you. I still couldn’t believe this is true.


The last time we met in person with your wife Helen is May 2021. The reason I didn’t text you for a meetup afterwards is my challenging life situation. I didn’t really have passion for anything and almost lost hope in life, so I didn’t want to bring that energy to you. But when things are getting better now, and when I want to share with you my recent exciting news, I can’t anymore. I forget life is so unexpected, and anything can happen at any time.


I regret that I didn’t catch up with you earlier, my dear mentor and friend. Sometimes you were more like a grandpa to me, like what you have been to many international students. You were the first person that I have met in my life who was in such a high position but still remained very humble, kind and down-to-earth. You showed me how to live life and treat each other. I saw so much humanity shining through you. You will be hugely missed.


I still remember we met in 2015. At that time, I just graduated and was helping StudyAdelaide casually after being a Student Ambassador with them and you were the chair. I couldn’t remember who mentioned to me that I should ask you to be my mentor without telling me the reasons. But I just followed and I am so thankful to that person.


You agreed to my request without any hesitation. We then started to meet, and some moments are still so vivid because they have touched my heart.


I like how you treated life, being authentic.


When I received my second interview invitation with Kaplan Business School, I was nervous, so I called you for advice. Instead of telling me many things to remember, your answer was so simple that surprised me.


‘You just need to be yourself.’

Looking back, this is one of the best pieces of advice I have received, and I started to share that with others who came to seek help from me too. Being authentic. What a wonderful thing to do. Because only when we show our true selves, the law of attraction will follow.


Later on, I know for many interviews, the interviewers are not there to only interview your skills. More importantly, they want to know you as a person. Your personality and attitude matter. They want to know if you are the right fit for the team and their work culture. So if we pretend to be someone else or the person that we think they are looking for, we may end up being in the wrong workplace. I listened and had a lovely one-hour interview with the interviewer Alex. To me, it was more like a casual chat, which I've never experienced before. It just felt right from my heart. As predicted, I got the job, and 3 years later, he is my new boss.


I like your energy, your cheerful smile, whistle and encouraging words.


When I struggled at my first full-time job, you always told me: ‘Hang in there. You got this.’ ‘If you are not good, I wouldn’t have had agreed to be your mentor.’ You saw good in me and always reiterate it.


You were the person who commented on my blog the most. You said many times to me that my posts should be shared and are essential for people to read. But in the beginning, I thought you just wanted to encourage me. Only after one of my posts was been shared, and more and more people told me that they liked my work, I started to rethink.


'Yes, maybe I am a good storyteller.'

I had received so many doubts (especially in my writing and communication parts) growing up, which diminished my self-confidence.


I remember when I asked you to list my three best qualities, a good communicator is one of them. Do you know, I just got the National Communications Officer role! I made it, finally! However, I couldn't tell you in person now. But, I am promising you: I will keep writing and sharing!


Besides, you proved to me many statements that I’ve heard are not true.


1. There’s no selfless/unconditional love apart from your parents.


But, you’ve been so kind and generous to many people including me.

For our 2nd or 3rd time meetup, you said to me: 'I want you to remember one thing. Whenever you need money urgently, please contact me.' At that time, I was only doing some casual work as a recent graduate. Hearing that, I felt so much warmth coming in. When you heard there was something wrong with my bike, you came to fix it. When I was thinking to buy a unit, you joined me for the whole process and even provided house moving service to me.


2. Everyone likes to talk about themselves.


But for you, you have a big heart for others.


Every time we met, you always kept your end to the bare minimum and showed great interest in hearing how my life went. You had so many questions to ask: 'How’s your work?' 'Is financial ok?' 'How is your piano/blog going?' 'Are your parents well?' 'How’s your housemate?'


You’re a legend. Thank you so much for being such a wonderful role model to me. I will try my best to inherent your style. And I am forever grateful to meet you and will remember you for my whole lifetime. Take care.


With love,

Qian


62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page